V7 Classic with Norman Hyde "M" Bar Conversion

So I have been looking for more aggressive handlebars to put on my V7 Classic.  The stock ones were nice but I wanted a better “look” and also a little more weight on the front tires.  My Parilla 250 has VERY aggressive clip-ons that are fine for such a light bike; for the V7C I thought that something that was a little more upright but lower than stock might be the ticket.

I posted on a few forums, and many chimed in and recommended the Laverda “Jota” replica bars available from numerous places on the web.  They are fabulous looking setups, but I wanted to see exactly how little I could spend and actually get some really decent bars.  The other choices were “swan neck” styles, and I did consider them, and finally dropped them when I’d have to take the triple trees apart to get them on the forks.  Well within my mechanical skills.  Still, I want to make it cheap and easy.

A good friend recommended Norman Hyde “M” bars.  I didn’t have pictures, and I’d ridden and written about Triumphs, for which these bars were actually made.  The clearance for the M bars is a substitute for the “Clubman” bars on other cafe bikes.  I bought my bars on eBay for about $45 bucks, and a set of cheap, nice bar-end mirrors from Amazon for another $19 plus shipping.

Fit and finish were awesome.  Installed in about an hour.  The cables were a little crowded, but everything ended up fitting nice.  I discarded the bar end weights that came with the original bars, and I saved them to install on a friend’s Aermacchi project that I’m completing.  The bar end mirrors installed quickly, and the adjustability and quality were damned nice.  Allen bolts in two different sizes do the clamping and holding.

I gave it a short ride around the block.  Everything was tight, but it’s Detroit, it was February and it was dark and cold.  I pulled in knowing that the install was sound and everything worked well when riding around the block.

And then it rained and froze for two days.

When the weather finally broke, I pulled the bike out of my man cave and threw a leg over.  First thing I noticed was the narrower bars caused me to twist the throttle and rev the engine, which is uncomfortable, to say the least.  Glad to say that after a few days this has completely disappeared.

It’s been a few days’ riding now, and I have over 100 miles with my hands on the new setup.  In a word, delightful.  Slightly less wind blast than the standard posture, and waaaaayyyy more feel.  The front wheels dance under my direction like they have never done before.  Fast and slow corners are much more comfortable to set up and navigate through.  The new position and the bars’ size and shape compliment this bike so well that the first thing I’d do is ditch the stock ones and put these on.

Comfort is another area.  I ride big miles on the Guzzi.  It’s over 20K miles since I purchased it in August of 2009, with a couple of really miserable Midwest winters to keep me off the road for extended periods.  I require bars that are comfortable on my arms and keep my back in a nice straight posture.  The Norman Hyde “M” bars are exactly what the doctor ordered.

Oh, and bar-end mirrors for me and my new setup?

For the first time ever I can actually see exactly what’s behind me.  I don’t have to move my shoulders around to see traffic.  I don’t have to squint to make out what the size, density and speed of things approaching from the rear are.  No vibration, no wiggle, nothing at any speed or RPM range.

So I can see everything behind me, ride comfortably with even greater confidence, and rock a nice cafe bike look for about $75.  What’s not to like?

17 thoughts on “V7 Classic with Norman Hyde "M" Bar Conversion

  1. Any chance you can compare that set up to the bars on the V7 Racer?

  2. Being in Detroit, I haven’t seen a racer in the flesh yet, just pix. I CAN tell you that they’re cheaper!

  3. Everything looks good!
    I have the same problem you describe on my SPIII…
    The mirrors are so close to the centerline of the bike, all I see is my own torso.
    Your bar-ends look like just the ticket.

  4. This is an interesting post to read, because you’ve gone the same way I did with with my V7. I fitted LSL “sports tourer” bars which look similar to your M bars, but perhaps a little narrower: 26.75 inches wide, 1.6 inch rise, 4.5 inch pull back.

    I also fitted a pair of Halycon bar end mirrors, and a Dart flyscreen, both of which are beautifully made and work really well, though it pushed my budget to 3 or 4 times what you spent!

  5. Pingback: motorcycles: V7 Classic with Norman Hyde “M” Bar Conversion | Helmet Hair Motorcycle News

  6. I sure enjoy the blog; reading your posts led me to stop in at Rose Farm Classics a couple of days ago to meet Jim and talk over getting Guzzi to keep in Midwest. Great guys; a great shop. Thanks for the blog.

  7. Hi Danilo, looks fantastic. I’ve thought about the same myself for my classic – are they a 7/8 or one inch bar? I’m in Australia and keen to get hold of some. Great to hear some updates on your bike too., and very happy that it is still running well!

  8. Hi Danilo…

    Been reading and re-reading your blog. I’m getting a Guzzi soon, but really can’t decide on which. It’s either a Breva 1200 Sport or the V7.

    I’m 6’3″ at 220, and was shocked when I threw a leg over the V7 how good it felt!

    I live about 25 miles north of Chicago, and will use it for occasional trips to the city.

    After the amount of time spent on your V7, any additional words of advice? I’d run the same bags and everything.

    Thanks so much!

  9. Go see Jim. Barron at Rose Farm Classics in Woostock, IL. Talk to him and throw a keg over some bikes and see what “speaks” to you. You’ll know soon after if you’re on the right bike.

    I recommend 30L instead of 40L bags because if the way the wind hits them at speed.

  10. Really great reading your posts, and the V7C is looking like a proper cafè! Where did you get a hold of that single seat? I found it at corsaitaliana, but I was out of luck as they were out of stock.. Keep up the good work, your site has been a great source of tips.

  11. Any further mods or paint on the V7 Classic? I’m going this evening to look at a low-mile 2009 model that a private party is selling, and have read all of your Moto Guzzi related posts with interest. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experiences!

    I’m definitely interested in adding bar-end mirrors after seeing your comments about poor visibility and vibration issues with the stock mirrors. Are these the mirrors you picked up?

  12. Thanks for the reply. I’m going to try out the stock mirrors for a little while, and if I hate them, I’ll probably give the mirrors above a try. I really liked the V7 Classic I looked at last night, and agreed to buy it. The sale is just pending inspection at the local dealer. The tough part now will be waiting for decent weather to ride!

  13. Thank you so much for this more then complete V7 blog. I am in the process of buying a new bike and i am torn between Bonneville, Thruxton, Scrambler ( all triumph) and since I’ve seen the V7 I cannot let it go…. money won’t let me look at the newer stone, so a nice classic is what i have to look at. At this moment, i say… All you write i can relate too and still so ething inside says… Should not you go for the thrumpers… I am 6,3 and 250 pounds so that kinda let me hang towards the triumphs.. but now i read you are a big guys too….

    Still haven’t made the choice but you blog sure helped me a lot!
    Thank you for that

    Take care,

    Ben

Leave a comment