Ubuntu Karmic Koala 9.10 Where’s my SD Card?

I’ve had one heck of a hard time getting the SD card to mount on my Ubuntu Karmic Dell Precision 90 laptop.  Not a thing.  Searched through the forums and found a solution that worked for me.  Now the SD Card mounts on my Dell Laptop just fine.  Just takes a quick command-line call and a cut-and-paste into “gedit”.  Once the edit is made, close and reboot, and the SD card problem with your Ubuntu Karmic Koala is gone!

First, at a command line, do:

sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/options

Then, in gedit, cut and paste:

options sdhci debug_quirks=1
ProblemType: Bug
Architecture: i386
DistroRelease: Ubuntu 9.04
Package: linux-image-2.6.28-6-generic 2.6.28-6.17
ProcCmdLine: User Name=UUID=e309fb14-05db-4e9a-b137-c6bf63eeb6a4 ro quiet splash elevator=noop
ProcEnviron:
SHELL=/bin/bash
LANG=it_IT.UTF-8
ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.28-6.17-generic
SourcePackage: linux

Save the file, then reboot.

Your SD Card should show up.

8 thoughts on “Ubuntu Karmic Koala 9.10 Where’s my SD Card?

  1. You may, or may not, find this to be funny (I think it is a *little* funny ;^)

    Have you noticed that folks are pasting this fix into other posts as, something like, “Just add this!” :
    options sdhci debug_quirks=1
    ProblemType: Bug
    Architecture: i386
    DistroRelease: Ubuntu 9.04
    Package: linux-image-2.6.28-6-generic 2.6.28-6.17
    ProcCmdLine: User Name=UUID=e309fb14-05db-4e9a-b137-c6bf63eeb6a4 ro quiet splash elevator=noop
    ProcEnviron:
    SHELL=/bin/bash
    LANG=it_IT.UTF-8
    ProcVersionSignature: Ubuntu 2.6.28-6.17-generic
    SourcePackage: linux

    … i.e. all the PC profile signature stuff is getting included in the pasting. Did you originate this similar-font-folly, or are you just adding onto the long line of confusion?

  2. Don’t know anything about it. It’s not my cup of tea to add to any confusion. I just posted what worked for me. Frankly, I don’t even know what that is. I’m not a Linux OS programmer — I found this fix elsewhere, but it was very difficult to find and I posted what I did to fix it here.

  3. Mine is eeepc 4g, card reader is not working:
    will it work for me if I “Just add this!”?? Do I have modify anything before cut and paste? Please help. Thanks.

    i have with #uname -a
    Linux user01-laptop 2.6.31-20-generic #58-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar 12 05:23:09 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

  4. Reboot is not necessarily.
    sudo rmmod sdhci
    sudo modprobe sdhci
    working too.

Leave a Reply

